jump to navigation

Search battles get ugly January 13, 2007

Posted by Vijay in Business, Google, Internet, Issues, Yahoo.
trackback

Things are hotting up in the search space and that means ugly fights between the big boys. Heres the latest tactic by Yahoo! that is drawing a lot of flack from users. Apparently Yahoo! is attempting to change the users default settings from Google Search to Yahoo! while upgrading to the latest version of Yahoo Messenger.

More details can be found on Andy Beal’s blog.

The main complaint here is that while you THINK a particular setting is being changed, Yahoo is covertly changing other settings as well. Naughty, naughty !!

Comments»

1. Veena Shivanna - January 13, 2007

I realised lot of changes, like setting the home page etc., That was a very dirty strategy.. It might work with the lazy browsers :-), I reverted back many of these changes, but not sure whether I have done everything!!

2. priya - January 14, 2007

Yep, for example, I find that if I download a higher version of Windows Media Player , I have no real idea what happens post installation as I sign acceptance of this mysterious EULA. I have to accept an agreement which basically askes me to confirm that if an arm and leg is required by the guys , I will smilingly gift wrap and fedex it across.

And whats this about EULA ( End User License Agreement ) anyway ? I see EULA as a rather mean gatekeeper, with a I-told-you-so look , who raps you across the knuckles as you get in , and you never know quite what you are getting into .

And while this goes on I find many of my other settings on the outlook and start up programs seem to point MS-wards. Same for the others like Yahoo I am sure .

Well, we are all tiny cogs in the larger universe of MS.

3. Vijay - January 14, 2007

Priya: I have never read any of those agreements.. generally you tend to just click on “I agree”… normally they cover all contingencies in that…

4. priya - January 14, 2007

wrong blog link , sorry !


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

